What If? The 2015 Stanley Cup Playoffs Under the Old Format

This is the second year that the Stanley Cup Playoffs return to a division-based format since 1993. But what if the Stanley Cup Playoffs continued under the old format of the top eight teams in the conference battling each other with the division winners earning the top two seeds? In the Eastern Conference, you would have the exact same matchups you would see when the playoffs started. The Western Conference matchups, however, would look drastically different.



1) New York Rangers vs. 8) Pittsburgh Penguins*

2) Montreal Canadiens vs. 7) Ottawa Senators*

3) Tampa Bay Lightning vs. 6) Detroit Red Wings*

4) Washington Capitals vs. 5) New York Islanders*



1) Anaheim Ducks vs. 8) Calgary Flames

2) St. Louis Blues vs. 7) Winnipeg Jets

3) Nashville Predators vs. 6) Minnesota Wild

4) Chicago Blackhawks vs. 5) Vancouver Canucks

*actual playoff matchup under current format


  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: